Seriously, I’ve been homeschooling my children for 5 years.  This is the beginning of our sixth.  What took me so long to figure out something so GENIUS!?!?!?

What am I talking about, you ask?  Let. me. tell. you.  For 5 years, I’ve let math papers stack up.  Then, when I finally get around to checking them and making the kids correct them… it’s nearly pointless.  Think about it – if they get a math paper they did 1.5 weeks ago, what’s the point?  They’ve already done 1.5 weeks worth of new work that going back to that paper is just ridiculous!

I don’t know what it was… but I seriously dreaded correcting papers.  Pulling out my math books… matching up problem to problem… blah blah blah.

Doesn’t this sound like an infomercial?  Am I ever going to tell you my genius idea?  Maybe…  Maybe not… ha ha ha.

Seriously, so my genius plan.  Each kid takes out their math book and turns to the lesson they had yesterday.  I take all three of my teacher manual books out and turn to the same lesson.  Starting w/ one kid, they read out the answers to me until they get one wrong.  They work on that problem while I move on to the next kid.  And we repeat the process.

It used to take anywhere from 1/2 an hour to 2 hours to get corrections done.  We have yet to take more than 45 minutes total to get our corrections done and moving on to the next lesson.   Seriously – this has made such a tremendous difference in our math life.  I know it seems so simple and ridiculous.  But I just had to share it…  Take it and use it or laugh at me b/c you think it’s silly.  I just don’t care!  I’m excited!!!!

