Do you eat oatmeal?  What about your kiddos?  Mine do, pretty regularly.  
With that said, purchasing the ‘tasty’ instant oatmeal gets expensive.  Especially since one packet isn’t enough to feed even a bird, much less a child.  So you have to use at least 2 packets but with mine – three.  So really, you get like 1 breakfast (for three kids) out of a whole box of instant oatmeal.  Cost efficient?  I think not.

Today we’re going to talk about getting the big canisters or even the big box from Sam’s/Costco for super cheap and it lasts forever.  Okay, not really forever.

Let’s look at this from a health standpoint.
Here are the ingredients for the Cinnamon & Spice instant oatmeal packets:
Ingredients
WHOLE GRAIN ROLLED OATS (WITH OAT BRAN), SUGAR, SALT, CALCIUM CARBONATE, CINNAMON AND OTHER SPICES, GUAR GUM, OAT FLOUR, CARAMEL COLOR, NIACINAMIDE*, VITAMIN A PALMITATE, REDUCED IRON, PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE*, RIBOFLAVIN*, THIAMIN MONONITRATE*, FOLIC ACID*.  *ONE OF THE B VITAMINS  
(This was taken from HERE)


In my big box of oatmeal, there’s one thing.  Oatmeal.  That’s it.  Nothing else. 

Can you tell me what NIACINAMIDE is?  What about GUAR GUM?  Is CARAMEL COLOR really necessary?

Yeah, I didn’t think so.  
Furthermore, it gets expensive.  At http://www.amazon.com, 4 boxes cost $26.99.  So that would make one box over $6.  I’m pretty sure that’s not the norm.  I never price it anymore.  Let’s just say, hypothetically, they’re $4 a box.  WOW.  $4 for only, at the very least, 5 bowls of oatmeal.   I can spend about $3-4 on one canister of regular, plain ol’ oatmeal and it will last me at LEAST a month.
Let’s see how easy it was for me to make the kids breakfast this morning.
Cast of characters:  Oatmeal, sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg.

For four servings of oatmeal (which I divvied up for 3 children), bring 3.5 cups of water to a boil.  Add in 2 cups of oats.  Cook for about 1-2 minutes.

I put in 1/4 cup of sugar (That may seem like a lot, but remember, this is for 4 servings), a good amount of cinnamon and a good dash of nutmeg.

Stir well and divvy out into bowls.  Serve and enjoy!

Oatmeal is not only cheaper but better for you to make your own instant oatmeal.  You’ll know exactly what’s going into your’s and your family’s body’s.  

For more WFMW Posts, head on over to Rocks In My Dryer!  And just as a reminder, WFMW is only at Rocks in my Dryer temporarily.  I believe, next week, it’ll return to We Are That Family.  Happy Wednesday!

Photobucket

