Coffee with Me Thursday Tips

Do you ever purchase fresh herbs?  I L.O.V.E. fresh herbs.  Love them…  They are so fresh and clean… so pretty, vibrant and FULL of flavor.  Oh man,  I love them.

The only problem I had with them was storage.  They’d often get shoved under other heavier vegetables, bruised and quickly nasty.  Furthermore, even if they weren’t under other veggies, they’d still go bad fast.

I was watching Rachael Ray one day and noticed she kept her’s in the fridge (which is where I kept mine) wrapped in a damp paper towel.  GENIUS!  It really does keep my herbs fresher, longer.

First, rinse them.  This cilantro here was covered in dirt.  Ew.  When you’re done rinsing them, shake the excess water off.
Then place them on some paper towels.

Wrap it up and stick them in a ziploc bag then put them in the fridge.  Keep a designated place for your herbs so they don’t get squished.
And another little tip?  When using fresh herbs, try to use them toward the end.  You tend to get more flavor from them if you use them right before you serve the meal.  I don’t follow that tip always, but most of the time.  🙂
Head on over to Melissa’s blog and check out other tips! 

Photobucket

