I haven’t had real, fresh from the Atlantic Ocean, GOOD seafood in a LONG time.  I think it’s really sad how every store I go to only sells FARMED (icky) seafood.  Seriously folks, if you haven’t had REAL wild-caught seafood – you have to.  Big difference.

I guess you could consider me spoiled.  I grew up on the East Coast in sunny North Carolina.  My parents had a LOVE for seafood and when you only live about 20 minutes from the waterfront, how could you eat anything but wild seafood?

So I lucked out and grew up on fresh flounder, crab, shrimp, salmon, oysters (a FAVORITE of mine)… oh the list goes on and on and on.

Do you know, my dad, sisters and I would often go get our own seafood?  I’ve caught crabs w/ a hand net, gone flounder giggin’ and we used to set out crab pots in the sound in Morehead City and Beaufort.  There’s nothing like coming home with fresh food that you got yourself!  And actually – I have MANY fond memories of my dad and I going to rake our own oysters.  YUM.  I haven’t had oysters in years.  I’ll always remember those times.  

So anyway – last Saturday we drove down to New Bern to hang out with my dad and stepmom, Kate.  My dad had a lovely dinner in store for us!  Fried softshell crabs, boiled shrimp and baked tilapia.  Boy howdy it was so super yummy!

Do you know what the best part is?  Jason always thought he hated seafood… Guess what?  He LOVED everything!  I’m so proud of him for trying new things and finding out he LOVES IT!

Do you know what that means?  I’m going to instate a seafood night every other week.  YAY!  I heart seafood!  I’m SOOOOOO excited!

So here are some pictures of the supa yummy foods we ate on Saturday!

Photobucket
