My mom used to joke with me and others saying that I came out sucking my thumb and eating macaroni and cheese.  This has been my all-time favorite food for as long as I can remember.  With that said, I’d say it’s high time I blog about it!  So, let’s get started!  Preheat your oven to 375 350 degrees.

017

The ingredients: butter, flour, milk, salt, pepper, cheddar cheese, monterey jack cheese, garlic and elbow macaroni

001

First, we'll melt three tablespoons of butter with 1/2 a tablespoon of garlic and salt & pepper to taste (I use A LOT of pepper)

002

Slowly warm 2-2.5 cups of milk, separately. It's better to mix warm milk (or liquids) into a roux.

005

Shred both blocks of cheese. The blocks I buy are 10 ounces. I'll use about 8-9 ounces of each cheese in the mix and then 1-2 on top.

Add in 4 tablespoons of flour

Add in 4 tablespoons of flour

007

Mix well and cook on medium heat until smooth and bubbly - about 1-2 minutes.

009

Slowly add in the milk and mix well. Heat on med heat until boiling and thick-ish.  NEW NOTE! - AS SOON AS THE MIXTURE IS THICK REMOVE FROM HEAT.  OTHERWISE THE SAUCE BREAKS DOWN BECAUSE IT OVERCOOKS QUICKLY.

011

Don't forget the macaroni! Cook it about 1 minute less than the instructions say. They'll cook more once we put it in the oven.

014

Once the white sauce is thick enough (but not too thick) add in about 8-9 ounces of each cheese.

016

Mix well. Stir until all of the cheese has melted into the sauce. Make sure to taste the sauce before saying it's done. It could need more cheese! And never believe the lie that there is such a thing as too much cheese... that's simply RIDICULOUS!

021

Next up is buttering the casserole dish. I use a plastic sandwich bag - I put it on my hand, scoop some softened butter and butter the dish. Easy peasy!

022

Make sure to drain the macaroni really well!

023

Pour the macaroni and cheese back into the pot to mix.

024

Once everything is mixed, pour it all into the casserole.

025

This is about how much cheese I had left over... and it will go on top of the macaroni...

026

...just like this.

Now we’re ready for the oven.  You’ll put this into a 375 350 degree oven for 30 minutes.  So, while we wait for the macaroni to be done, here are some pictures of what the kiddos were doing while I was cooking!

018

The boys were both working on school work...

019

And Kylie was reading a Spiderman comic, for kids. 🙂

And here is Zachary showing me what he REALLY does when he thinks I'm not watching....

So here we go….  I overcooked the macaroni and cheese.  Well – too high of heat in the oven.  Next time – 350 for 20ish minutes.  *insert eye roll here*
