May 28th, 1999 was such a glorious day!  It was the day I was FINALLY a high school GRADUATE! I couldn’t believe that day had finally come!  August 1995 to May 1999 were some of my best years growing up.  I really did have a blast in high school.  But I will say, that most of the stuff I did, my parents would not have or did not approve of.  So while at the time, I had a lot of fun, most of the stuff I did would not be recommended to anyone.

My freshman year was interesting.  First of all, that was the first or second year of block scheduling at Havelock High School.  We had 4-1.5 hour classes per day then the second semester we’d have 4 more 1.5 hour classes.  Let me see if I can remember what classes I had…  Honestly, I don’t think I can…  I know I had Advanced English, Advanced Physical Science, Algebra 1, Freshman Chorus, Art 1, P.E., Typing, and ELPSA – kind of a governmentish class…  Freshman year was the year I met my Sarah.  I just loved her.  She and I instantly clicked and become inseparable for the rest of our high school ‘career.’  I don’t think I had a date to the homecoming dance, I think Sarah and I went together to the Sadie Hawkins, I didn’t attend the Sweetheart dance, and of course I was too young for Prom.  But we still had such a great time our freshman year.

So moving onto my sophomore year…  Classes – uh… Computer Applications 1, Biology, Weight Training, English 2, Geometry, World Geography, I think I had another computer class and then Spanish.  My sophomore year – nothing is really sticking out!  I did attend the homecoming with a boy named Chris, I also attended the Sadie Hawkins with the same boy, and again I did not go to the Sweetheart dance or the Prom.  In the fall, Sarah and I became football managers.  We had SUCH a blast doing that but we didn’t continue on with it the next year.

Junior year.  Algebra 2, Chemistry, French 1, U.S. History, English 3, Computer Applications 2, Computer Programming and some law class…  Um, I’d rather not discuss my dating adventures.  I can’t even remember if I went to homecoming, I don’t think I did.  And I did attend my Sadie Hawkins dance that year but let’s not discuss that, k?  I got my first job the summer before school at the new Burger King in town.  I enjoyed it but then … eh … it just became another job, you know?

Senior year.  I only went to school for the first semester.  I had enough credits after that semester to graduate 1/2 a year early.  So I only took four classes – English 4, a senior project class, French 2 (and then I taught myself French 3), and sociology.  I was pregnant this year, too.  Which is another reason why I graduated early.  I was due in January – so by the time I had Connor, I’d have to be out of school for several weeks anyway and then to come back “that girl with the baby…”  Eh, no thanks.  Anyway – I had to really focus on Connor anyway and work to make money for him.  So – it really worked out, my being able to graduate early.  The dances I attended this year were the Sadie Hawkins w/ a dear friend I’ve known since 1st grade, Mike and prom…  Prom came in the spring, of course, so this was post-baby.  Another good friend, Pat, asked me to the prom that year.  The only way I’d be able to go was if someone who was still in school asked me – and he did.  I’m so glad he did – I had a great time!

You know, during my high school years, I made some really really great friends.  Friends that even now, I keep in touch with.  To my friends:  Sarah, Jennifer, Amanda, Rachael (who didn’t attend our school but spent her summer’s down here/with us), Shana, Mary…  and many more…  my high school experience would just not be the same without y’all.  I’m so glad we met and became such good friends!  🙂

Jennifer (senior) and I (junior) before our homecoming dance

Jennifer (senior) and I (junior) before our homecoming dance

Friend Amanda and I - she left the summer following her sophomore/my freshman year.

Friend Amanda and I - she left the summer following her sophomore/my freshman year.

Sarah doing what she did best, talking on the phone and Amanda... I'm not sure?

Sarah doing what she did best, talking on the phone and Amanda... I'm not sure?

I had just cut myself some bangs... big mistake!

I had just cut myself some bangs... big mistake!

A picture of my walls of stuff...  :-)

A picture of my walls of stuff... 🙂

Sarah cookin us one of our favorite foods - TATER TOTS!

Sarah cookin us one of our favorite foods - TATER TOTS!

Shana, Mary, Me and Julie - I have absolutely no idea what I was doing or why I was doing it - so please don't ask... lol

Shana, Mary, Me and Julie - I have absolutely no idea what I was doing or why I was doing it - so please don't ask... lol

Me, Jennifer, Jamie and Sarah on our way to Busch Gardens!

Me, Jennifer, Jamie and Sarah on our way to Busch Gardens!

Jumpin' on the trampoline

Jumpin' on the trampoline

Tawna's junior and Jennifer's senior homecoming w/ freshman boys...  That's a post for another day... maybe...

Tawna's junior and Jennifer's senior homecoming w/ freshman boys... That's a post for another day... maybe...

Senior Sadie Hawkins - Sarah, Pat, me and Mike

Senior Sadie Hawkins - Sarah, Pat, me and Mike

One of my senior pictures

One of my senior pictures

GRADUATION!  Me and Sarah :-)

GRADUATION! Me and Sarah 🙂

