Well here I am, on Sacred Sunday… thinking about those things I need to change in my heart and my mind.

I’m going to be quite honest here – my heart has not been in the right place for the last couple months. I’ve not been having quiet time with the Lord, I have not spent time in the Word and I have not really wanted to go to church. It’s no one’s fault but my own. I can’t pinpoint what has made me this way – but what I can pinpoint is that it needs to change.

There are two passages in the Bible that I really want to focus on this week. The first one is Galatians 5:22-23.

(22) But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, (23) gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law.

If we don’t exhibit these qualities, then we’re not producing fruit. All Christians should be producing these fruits. There are 9 of them and for the next nine days, I want to work on one. Well, not just one. So tomorrow (Monday), I’ll start with love. I’ll show my family I love them and tell them as much as I can. Then on Tuesday, I’ll continue with love and add on joy. I’ll put a smile on my face and be happy throughout the day. I’ll keep a journal of how I exhibited each fruit and report back next Sunday.

Since tomorrow is the fruit of love, what better passage to meditate and pray on than 1 Corinthians 13:4-7.

(4) Love is patient, love is kind and is not jealous; love does not brag and is not arrogant, (5) does not act unbecomingly; it does not seek its own, is not provoked, does not take into account a wrong suffered, (6) does not rejoice in unrighteousness, but rejoices with the truth; (7) bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

What a beautiful passage. I just love it. Now if I could only apply it… That’s going to be my focus tomorrow and the rest of the week.

I think in order for me to battle any kind of anything, to include my laziness and weight loss, I have to be seeking God, His wisdom, His love, His everything. Without Him, I can’t do anything. So my focus needs to go back to Him.

Lord, please draw me close to You. Fill me with Your Spirit. Guide me in my every step. Amen.

