All of us love to read.  You can find my children reading all throughout the day.  It definitely does this mama heart good to see the kids reading so much!

I have a couple of friends, Sharon and Mandy, who do read-alouds on a daily basis.  The whole family sits together and my friends read a chapter or two from a book.  The whole family LOVES it!  So I thought it would be nice for my family to start the same thing.

I have three specific books we’re going to start with.

Flat Stanley by Jeff Brown

Flat Stanley by Jeff Brown

We’re starting off with this book because a friend of mine in Germany, Becky, read this to her son who colored the Stanleys and sent them out for everyone to take pictures with.  The kids are SUPER excited to learn more about Flat Stanley.

James and the Giant Peach by Roald Dahl

James and the Giant Peach by Roald Dahl

James and the Giant Peach is our next book.  I chose this because I have fond memories of having Roald Dahl books read to me as a child and then reading them myself.  He’s incredibly creative and I’ve always LOVED his books!

Hank the Cowdog by John R. Erickson

Hank the Cowdog by John R. Erickson

Hank the Cowdog was chosen because of my dear friend, Mandy.  Yes, the same one I talked about way up there.  Her family LOVES these books and since our families are so simliar, I figured I better get this for us too!

IMG_0005

IMG_0006

We also like to read the Bible together.  With the Bible, we pick a passage and each person reads a certain amount of verses.  This year, we want to start with Genesis and read through the Bible.  🙂

The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis

The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis

IMG_0008

The last ‘read aloud’ we’re going to talk about is the Chronicles of Narnia.  Although, we do have the entire set that I could read aloud, we hit the jackpot at Barnes and Noble.  A little over a week ago, we went to B&N just to browse.  Now that I think about it, that’s also the day I picked up Hank the Cowdog for only about $5 or $6.  Anyhow, on the way out, Jason spotted this gem on a table in the center of the store.  He immediately turned to the back and saw that this was Focus on the Family’s Radio Theater Dramatic version of the Chronicles of Narnia.  On the front?  A sticker saying this is only priced at $13!  WOW!!!  I could NOT believe my eyes!  AMAZING!  This is SUCH a steal as the suggested retail price is SIXTY BUCKS!  Wow.  The dramatic reading is WAY better then just having a narrator only because each character is read by a different person.  They also include music and the noises of different things in the book – like door handles being turned, trees blowing, etc etc.  This was such a great find.  And just so you know, you can get this at B&Ns website for only $9-10!!!  Click here.  The kids have THOROUGHLY enjoyed listening to this dramatic version of Narnia.

Happy reading!

