So today’s blog is a bit serious.  Just some thoughts I’ve had and I guess just some things I believe.  I’m not writing this to convert you to our way of living/thinking – just to merely voice how I feel.  Take it or leave it.  🙂

Jason and I made the decision after much thought and prayer, to put our family size back in God’s hands.  In Psalm 127:3, it tells us that children are a gift from the LORD.  If they are a gift, then why should we reject those gifts, so to speak?  Would we reject $500 if God blessed/gifted us with it?  No, we wouldn’t.  He also told Adam and Eve in the beginning to be fruitful and multiply (Genesis 1:28 God blessed them; and God said to them, “Be fruitful and multiply, and fill the earth, and subdue it; and rule over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the sky and over every living thing that moves on the earth.”).  Yes, having the typical 2.5 kids is technically multiplying, but is it enough?  I think it’s enough if God says it’s enough.  I truly believe in my heart that we’re not supposed to ask God to control only certain aspects of our life while keeping control of everything else.  Children are a blessing and a gift from God.  We no longer want to reject those gifts.  For my family, birth control of any form is something we’ll never ever use again.  It’s kind of freeing, really.

And let’s be honest, God’s plan for my family may be that we only have three children.  That’s hard on my heart sometimes, though I know in the end; I’ll be okay with it.  I don’t really have a choice, do I?  But, I long for more babies.  Daily.  It’s a constant struggle for me to just let it go.  Now, just to be clear, that doesn’t mean that I don’t count my blessings each and every day.  I have three beautiful, wonderful, helpful, lively, obedient, incredibly intelligent children whom God has so lovingly blessed me with.  But being a mama to three children already, just makes me yearn for many more.  You know my dream is to have this ginormous bus-like van with loads of children.  I do realize, too, that Jason and I aren’t 20 anymore.  The older we get, the less likely it is that we’ll have 50 kids.  But one can dream, can’t she?  Ha ha ha.  😉

There are a few comforting verses I like to look to when I start to struggle.

Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans that I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans for welfare and not calamity to give you a future and a hope.”  Isn’t that wonderful?  He has plans for us.  All of us.  The hard part is the application.  The remembering that He has plans for us and no matter how hard life seems or how much it feels like it’s not going our way… rest in the fact that God has plans for you.  He’ll let you know about them when He’s ready.

Matthew 6:31-34 “Do not worry then, saying, ‘What will we eat?’ or ‘What will we drink?’ or ‘What will we wear for clothing?’  For the Gentiles eagerly seek all these things; for your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things.  But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.  So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself.  Each day has enough trouble of its own.” (Emphasis added.)

Anyway – I think I’ve gotten to the point of just blabbering rather than making a lot of sense.  The last thing I’d like to do is quote Psalm 127:3-5.  “Behold, children are a gift of the LORD, the fruit of the womb is a reward.  Like arrows in the hand of a warrior, so are the children of one’s youth.  How blessed is the man whose quiver is full of them; they will not be ashamed when they speak with their enemies in the gate.”

And to end this post – here’s a picture of our wonderful gifts:
Photobucket

*All Scripture was quoted from the New American Standard Bible. 🙂
