YUM!  This is probably one of my family’s most favorite meals!  Mmmm.  I can smell it in the oven cooking as I type.  It’s SOOOOOO good.  Okay anyway.  So I’m doing another recipe as I can’t think of anything else to write about.  😀  So, let’s get this recipe on a roll!  It’s SO super easy!  I promise!

First, the ingredients.

So what do we have here.  Ah yes.  First let me say, the beef is not in the picture b/c I had already crumbled it up into the pan to cook before I decided to take pictures and blog about it.  There’s about 1.5 lbs of ground beef in the pan on the stove.  In addition to that we have mashed potatoes, white corn, cheddar cheese, brown gravy, herb gravy mix for beef, salt, pepper, garlic powder, and oregano.  YUM.  You really can’t go wrong w/ those ingredients!

First, I like to get the potatoes made.  Please don’t yell at me when I tell you that I just popped them in the microwave to cook.  It was already 630 at this point and I needed to get dinner done!  On the Hungry Jack box, I used the measurements for the amount just above using the whole box.  But, I also used one more cup of potatoes than it asked for.  Just an FYI.  😉  In my experience w/ fake potatoes, they don’t use enough flakes.  So, w/ the water, milk, butter and flakes, I added in salt and pepper.  I cooked the potatoes in the microwave for 5 minutes.  When they were done, I did a quick stir then added in a couple handfuls of shredded cheddar.

Mix that together well.  Yum.  Okay next up, let’s get the beef and gravy cooked!  This is easy peasy, brown the ground beef then drain.  While that’s cooking up, add 2 cups of water to a small sauce pan, add in the 2 packets of gravy.  Whisk together until fully desolved and bring to a boil to thicken.  When the beef’s done, eyeball the seasonings you see to your taste.  I just like to sprinkle enough to cover the top (except for salt, I use that moderately) then stir together.

Next we’ll go ahead and mix the gravy into the beef.  Yum.

See how that’s really soupy?  That’s b/c I wasn’t paying attention.  I typically don’t use all 2 cups of the gravy.  Maybe 1.5 to 1.75 cups.  But well, it happens.  So the next step is to put a small layer of potatoes in the bottom of our dish.  Yes, you’ll see finger marks.  It’s FAR easier to use my hands to spread it around then a spoon.  😉

Now we’ll start layering!  So, the layers are as follows:  potatoes, beef (all of it), cheese, corn, cheese, potatoes.  With the beef this is what I did…  I used a hole-y spatula to keep from using ALL of the gravy so we won’t have a soupy shepherd’s pie.  You’ll see…

So, well, apparently I forgot to take a picture of the potatoes on top.  So, just use the rest of the potatoes and put on top.  Then we’ll bake for 45 minutes in a preheated 375* oven.  After 45 minutes, we’ll put the rest of the cheese on top and bake for another 10-15 minutes.  Mmmm, I can’t wait to eat this yummy goodness!!

Can we say YUM!?  Altogether now.  YUM!  Mmmm.  Let me tell you, it was good.  You know how else it’s good?  With a dollup of sour cream.  Do you see a pattern here?  Sour cream and cheese.  You just can’t go wrong w/ those.  Mmm.  Try it and let me know what you think!

