So, the Pioneer Woman has a LOT of recipes on her blog.  LOTS.  And like my friend, Melissa, says, the way she writes out her recipes makes it so much more appealing and easier to understand for visual people like us.  She takes a picture of each step.  It’s so helpful for me to make something like her cinnamon rolls, and see what each step should look like so I know that I’m either doing it correctly or incorrectly.  So, today I’ve made a family favorite – taco-zagna.  It’s SOOOO YUMMY!  But just a heads up.  In the first picture – the ingredients – you’ll notice there are tomatoes.  However, that was before I looked at them and they were bad.  No tomatoes today.  So here’s my taco-zagna recipe!!

The Ingredients:

2 lbs ground beef.  Yes, you see 1 lb there.  That’s due to poor planning on my part.  What. ever.  You’ll need 16 large flour tortillas, a 16 oz block of cheese (or 16 oz of preshredded if that’s how you like it), 2 cans of black olives, 1 can of refried beans, 2 jars of taco sauce (not enchilada sauce, taco sauce… I’m pretty sure there’s a difference), taco seasoning (1-2 packets if you don’t get a big container of it), tomatoes, lettuce, and sour cream.  I explained the tomato thing already.  The lettuce thing.  Well, I learned the lettuce was bad the day I bought it.  I just didn’t go back to the grocery store.  Okay, onto the recipe.  OH WAIT!  First preheat your oven to 350.  Okay, now moving on.  😉

First, start browning the ground beef.

While that’s browning off, let’s shred the cheddar and cut the olives.  To shred the cheddar, I just use the food processor.  My hands would die if I had to use a cheese grater.  The olives, I just do a rough chop.  I most certainly do NOT try to cut 4-5 slices per olive.  CRAZY!

Next, we’ll need to drain off the grease.  I learned something new tonight ;-).  2 packets of seasoning mixed in w/ probably 3/4 to 1 cup of water then add that to the beef.  Mix well.  I have the container, as you saw, of the taco seasoning.  I originally didn’t add the water.  Thought it would get too watered down.  Well, in the end I needed the water.  So, my suggestion to you is to follow the directions on the packet regarding the taco seasoning and water.  😀

Next up, beans.  Add in the one can of beans and mix well!

So now we’ll start layering.  To stay away from too much repetition, I’ll show you the first layer and the final layer.  😀  This is the order I layer the ‘zagna.’  Taco sauce, 4 tortillas, beef/bean mixture, black olives, cheddar cheese.  Taco sauce, 4 tortillas, and so on.  2 layers of that.  4 more tortillas then taco sauce.

Final two layers:

Into the oven this goes for 30 minutes.

After the 30 minutes are up, add the rest of the cheddar on top.  Put back into oven for 5 more minutes.

Then you’ll get this big dish of yummy goodness.  Doesn’t that look tasty?  Now, go try it!  Tell me what you think!  Oh, and don’t forget that yummy dollop of sour cream!

Oh and one more thing.  Had my veggies not gone bad, this is what I would have done.  I would have chopped up the lettuce and tomatoes and put them on top of each individual plate w/ the sour cream on top of that.  YUMMO!

